Attention: You are using an outdated browser, device or you do not have the latest version of JavaScript downloaded and so this website may not work as expected. Please download the latest software or switch device to avoid further issues.

News > Union news > Union Golf Society's Captain's Prize held on Friday 18th September 2020

Union Golf Society's Captain's Prize held on Friday 18th September 2020

25 Sep 2020
Union news
Brian O'Neill (1981), Neil Francis (1981) with Captain Greg Moore (1982)
Brian O'Neill (1981), Neil Francis (1981) with Captain Greg Moore (1982)
Our Captain Greg Moore (1982) and all of the Golf Society Committee would like to thank everyone for taking part in record numbers and for observing the Covid regulations on what was a very successful Captain’s Prize Outing on Friday 18th September in Elm Park Golf Club. He would particularly like to thank Robert as secretary of the golf society for making this and previous outings such a great success and especially making this year's outing happen on the last day available. He did all the work and made it extremely easy for Greg as captain. He was there at 7.30am to start the outing and made sure everything ran smoothly during the day. He also wishes to thank Paul in Elm Park and the catering staff and lastly Paul Keenan for asking him to be this years captain having had an extremely successful outing last year which set the ground work for this year's outing.
Also thanks go to Brigid in the union office and Robert's committee of Mark Collins and Stephen Noonan. Greg is delighted to announce that Paddy Kenny from the class of 1982 will be the Golf Society Captain for 2021.
In order to include as many past pupils in the timesheet as possible, there was a 15 hole and 9 hole Stableford competition. 

Prize winners

15 Holes

1st prize - Alex Noble 39 points 
2nd prize - Cameron O'Neill 38 points 
3rd prize - Max Connolly 33 points On back 9
Best Gross prize - David Butler 27 Gross
4th prize - Dermot O'Hara 33 points 
  • Past President prize - Jack Gleeson 31
  • Class Prize - Class of 2016 - Paul Cullen, Jack Gardiner, Tommy O'Brien
  • Nearest the Pin - TJ Kearns
  • Longest Drive - Michael Taaffe
9 Holes

1st prize - Louis O'Reilly 18 points On back 2
2nd - Niall Murray 18 points

Note: Prizes are available for collection from the Pro Shop in Elm Park Golf Club

Similar stories

Alan MacGinty, principal Blackrock College congratulates the Boys, their Parents, Teachers and the whole school communit… More...

Blackrock pupils take part in New Tourism Ireland and Co-operation Ireland video brings a 'Song of Hope and Friendship' … More...

Most read

A summary of the process to date including who Restore Together are; the number of victim/survivors that have come forward and the number of abusers r… More...

Jim McCabe 1974

The Union is saddened to learn of the loss of Jim McCabe More...

Have your say

This website is powered by