Attention: You are using an outdated browser, device or you do not have the latest version of JavaScript downloaded and so this website may not work as expected. Please download the latest software or switch device to avoid further issues.

Welcome to the Blackrock College Union Golf Society

Join the Golf Society Now

Welcome to The Blackrock College Union Golf Society

The Blackrock College Union Golf Society was set up in 1919. It holds two outings each year, the Captain's Prize and the President's Prize in early September. In addition, the top 15 players from the Captain's outing who are available to play, together with the holder, play for the Blackrock Match Play title during the summer months.

The winner of the President's Prize receives the Union Cup, which was donated to the Union Golf Society on its formation by Lord Justice O’Connor and Surgeon Kennedy. The President of the Union is invited to play in this outing if he is a golfer and to attend the dinner. He is not required to carry out ceremonial duties during the day.

It is usual for the Union President to play with the Captain of the Society and the President of the host club who is invited as a guest of the Society. Played in early September, it has become the first official function of the Union year and an opportunity for the new President to wear the chain of office and to brief the attendees on his plans for the year.

Over the years, the outings have been played on many golf courses including Elm Park, Milltown, Grange, Castle, Woodbrook, Dun Laoghaire (old and new), Foxrock, Killiney, Sutton, Royal Dublin and Portmarnock.

The Society enters a team of four in the Union of Irish Schools golf outing played each April in Milltown Golf Club. The team comprises the Winners of the Captains and Presidents outings, the winner of the Match Play and the Captain of the Society. In the event that members are not available, the Secretary organises replacements. The entry fee is paid by the society.

The Golf Society is run by a Secretary appointed by the Society and a Captain nominated each year by the outgoing Captain following consultation with the Secretary and some former Captains.

2023/24 Golf Society Committee

Union Presidents nominee/Secretary: Robert McCarthy (1988)

Captain: JD Buckley (1991)

Junior Committee nominees: Eric Olden (2016) & Patrick Cowhey (2015)

Society nominee/Treasurer: Mark Collins (1991) 

Society nominee: Stephen Noonan (1981) 

Contact Us

Robert McCarthy -

This website is powered by